Strictly Come Dancing 2019 line-up: Chris Ramsey ‘buzzing’ to be 2nd celeb contestant

Strictly Come Dancing is only a few weeks away from returning to television screens across the country and taking over Saturday nights. 

15 famous faces have signed up to battle it out on the dance floor with the hope of following in Stacey Dooley’s footsteps and lifting the Glitterball Trophy in December. 

Tonight, the first few celebrity contestants were announced during BBC One’s The One Show, which was presented by Matt Baker and Stacey, who was sitting in for Alex Jones. 

Hoping to impress the judges with their new dance moves is Chris Ramsey as he were announced as the second participant in the fan-favourite dance competition. 

Chris is a critically acclaimed stand-up comedian and is a regular face on TV.

Speaking about joining the show, he said: “I’m both excited and absolutely terrified to be doing the show.

“You will not find me on the dance floor at parties, you will find me at the buffet table.

“All night. At my wedding I danced with my wife; that one song took about 6 months practice, and I definitely stood on her feet a couple of times.

“So I’m looking forward to the possibility of making a fool of myself in front of millions of people… there better be a buffet after the live shows,” he explained. 

Joining Chris on the dancefloor is also David James MBE, a former England No.1 goalkeeper, as well as EastEnder’s star Emma Barton. 

Who would you like to see sign up this year?

Strictly fans should keep an eye out across the BBC and a select few ITV programmes to discover who will be added to the 2019 line-up. 

In the past, the BBC press team has announced a new name each day or so on the likes of BBC Breakfast, This Morning, BBC Radio and Loose Women. 

Tonight, the first three contestants were named, and there are 12 more to go. 

Alongside a brand new line-up, there is also a new judge on the show. 

It comes after Dame Darcey Bussell announced she would be stepping down from her role on the panel to take part in other commitments. 

Following seven years on the show, she is being replaced by Motsi Mabuse; a former South African champion and German Latin champion. 

She has also been a judge on Strictly Come Dancing’s German version for the last few years. 

Ahead of the new series beginning, the professional dancers have begun rehearsals. 

Taking to the official Strictly Come Dancing Twitter page, the fifteen experts gathered for a group photo. 

Strictly Come Dancing returns to BBC One later this year. 


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2005 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis.

2006 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2007 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s mic get caught in Karen’s dress.

2008 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2009 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2010 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2011 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

2012 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2013 winner: Louis Smith

The tenth series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2014 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series eleven of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2015 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2016 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

The fourteenth winner of Strictly was Joe McFadden. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley 

Last year’s winner was Stacey Dooley. The BBC documentarian raced to the top to become a firm favourite with her professional dance partner Kevin Clifton. It was Kevin’s first year co-winning the trophy and there were tears all around. 

Source: Read Full Article